That’s Where My Heart Is

mod

‘That’s Where My Heart Is’ – Demo (1965)

Lyrics

I just cannot believe
That you want me
Beg at your door
I just cannot believe
That you want me
Forever more
Time and time I tried to make you mine
I didn't think it would be such a short time
Before you came my way

Up where the moon is shining so bright
That's where my heart is tonight
Up where the moon is so bright
That's where my heart is tonight

I thought my day would come
When I would be
The only one
I thought my day would come
Under the moon
And under the sun
Now I shout through all the streets today
Lucky me, your love has come my way
Now tell me I was a fool

Up where the moon is shining so brightly
That's where my heart is tonight
Up where the moon is so bright
That's where my heart is tonight

I believe that dreams come through
I believe, because of you
He who made the stars in the sky
Made the world for you and I

I just cannot believe
That you want me
Beg at your door
I just cannot believe
That you want me
Forever more
Time and time I tried to make you mine
I didn't think it would be such a short time
Before you came my way

Up where the moon is shining so bright
That's where my heart is tonight
Up where the moon is so bright
That's where my heart is tonight

‘That’s Where My Heart Is’ is one of the very early demos recorded by young David Jones that have actually survived. Along with four other demos the song remained unreleased until 1991 when the early-Bowie anthology Early On (1964-1966) was released – thanks to Shel Talmy who has kept the demos in his archives until then.

The exact dates of the recordings for these demos are not certain. However, it is certain that they have been recorded under the supervision of Shel Talmy who started his involvement with David and The Lower Third in January 1965. After his departure from The Manish Boys Shel Talmy contracted David in May 1965 to contribute songs for him. It is highly probable that the demo was recorded around July 1965 when the ‘You’ve Got A Habit Of Leaving’ was recorded. In fact, Kevin Cann’s Any Day Now shows that on 25 July David and The Lower Third demoed a couple of songs. Peter Doggett, author of the superb The Man Who Sold The World, seems certain that these demos were recorded some time in October 1965 following his name change from David Jones to David Bowie and his move from EMI Parlophone to Pye in September that year.

Shel Talmy has been fond of young David Jones, the restless and ambitious but still commercially unsuccessful musician who has started to not only become a lead singer but also a songwriter. In 2003, Talmy remembered what he thought about young David in those days: “I didn’t think that what he was writing at the time had a snowball’s chance in hell of making it, but I thought, ‘He’s so brave and brash, let’s take a flier.”

And so he gave Bowie the chance to experiment with his vocals and the song structure in these demos. Upon release of these demos in 1991, She Talmy said: “David and I went straight to monoaural tape on those demos. Certainly they weren’t multitrack, we did it specifically to do demos. They were things we were talking about recording at a future date.”

‘That’s Where My Heart Is’ features only David accompanying himself with a guitar. The song contains love lyrics and a melody that are to coo complicated to be catchy in any way. The vocals performed by Bowie resemble those of a hysterical Gene Pitney mixed with Bowie’s copying of P.J. Proby’s baritone singing. It’s no wonder that this demo did not sparkle any interests by anyone in the industry. The song just does not “feel” right. But I guess it would be inappropriate to be too judgemental on those demos as they were a platform for Bowie to experiment with a song structure and his voice – which in this song appears quite fragile. However, the song reveals his mock-Cockney vocals that will later on become more common in his singing. All in all, this demo and the other demos demonstrate that Bowie’s musical interests reached far beyond R&B and soul.

——

Discography

  • CD Early On (1964-1966) 1991

——

Musicians

  • David Jones (vocals, guitar, saxophone)
  • Dennis Taylor (guitar)
  • Graham Rivens (bass)
  • Phil Lancaster (drums)
  • Produced by Shel Talmy
Leave a comment

Filed under 1965-66: Davy Jones & The Lower Third

Leave a Reply

