And I Say To Myself

david-bowie_1966.jpg?w=385&h=240

‘And I Say To Myself’ – Single Version (1966)

Lyrics

And I say to myself
I've got it wrong, wrong, wrong
She is a play-girl
She the wrong wrong girl for me
And I say to myself
You're a fool, fool, fool
She doesn't love you
She doesn't need you, this I know

She's got a trail of men that she takes
Wherever she goes
She hasn't the strength to love any single man for a length of time

[And I say to myself]
Ooh, I don't stand a chance
[And I say to myself]
It's a long long romance
[And I say to myself]
Well, she's out to slay
[And I say to myself]
Well, she's got it made
[And I say to myself]
Oh yeah, oh yeah
[And I say to myself]
Oh yeah

And I say to myself that she shouldn't love anybody else in the world but me
And I say to myself
Forget her now, now, now
She don't want you
She don't love you anymore
And I say to myself you're a fool, fool, fool
She's don't love you
She don't need you, this I know

And I turn around and look at myself
You'll never get her, you're a fool
Say after me I'm a fool- I'm a fool

[And I say to myself]
I can't get what I want
[And I say to myself]
And it makes me sad
[And I say to myself]
I can't get what I want
[And I say to myself]
And it makes me mad
[And I say to myself]
Oh yeah, oh yeah
[And I say to myself]
Oh yeah

And I say to myself that she shouldn't love anybody else in the world but me,
yeah
Yeah

[And I say to myself]
Oh, I feel so sad
[And I say to myself]
She's making me mad
[And I say to myself]
And I say to myself
[And I say to myself]
That I love her
[And I say to myself]
And I say to myself that I need her
[And I say to myself]
Oh, I need her

And I say to myself I'm a fool
And I say to myself

AndISay_Big

Released as the B-side to the ‘Can’t Help Thinking About Me’ single on 14 January 1966, ‘And I Say To Myself’ is a rather quiet and harmonious little piece differing both in sound and quality to the superior A-side.

Recorded together with ‘Can’t Help Thinking About Me’ on 25 November 1965 at Pye Studios and produced by Tony Hatch, this song has some resemblance with a Bowie-demo discussed earlier on this blog: ‘Glad I’ve Got Nobody’. Both the chord and the style are similar to the demo. The beginninng of the song starts with some promising chromatic harmonic changes as heard in some Beatles songs. The song goes on and shows that its roots must also be in the doo-wop vocal harmony of the 1950s. Vocal inspiration came as well from the Motown sound and  the style of The Righteous Brothers and Marvin Gaye. Nicholas Pegg assumes that ‘And I Say To Myself’ adapted the chords used in Cooke’s ‘Wonderful World’. Bowie’s vocals on this record are a true improvement over earlier recordings. They are worthy matching them against Marvin Gaye in parts.

One major setback of the song is the less intriguing lyrical composition. The song is about a relationship with a rich girl. She does not like him as much as he likes her. The rich girl might perhaps be a reference to the more aristocratic early Bowie girlfriend Dana Gillespee. Hence, the song would hint at Bowie’s class-conscience.

What all these influences show is that David Bowie did not know where to go with his musical studies. Midway through this song it is not really possible to detect a sort of sense of direction that the song might take. It’s not one of the worst songs of early Bowie – by far not. But in my opinion, it remains one of the less interesting songs.

——

Discography

Single Version:

  • Vinyl ‘Can’t Help Thinking About Me’ (A-Side) / ‘And I Say To Myself’ (B-Side) 1/1966
  • CD Early On (1964-1966) 1991
  • Vinyl I Dig Everything: The 1966 Pye Singles 1999

——

Musicians

  • David Bowie (vocals, guitar, saxophone)
  • Dennis Taylor (guitar)
  • Graham Rivens (bass)
  • Phil Lancaster (drums)
  • Produced by Tony Hatch
Leave a comment

Filed under 1965-66: Davy Jones & The Lower Third

Leave a Reply

